...kill me. Apologies to everybody who is reading this. I abandoned this blog for a while. But I'll try to post more often...

Anyway, a couple weeks ago I went on a road trip to Yellowstone. Beautiful scenery, tons of wildlife, and a lot of geysers and hot springs. I'll upload some pictures later in another post. I had a great time.

Because of the abundance of wildlife, it's inevitable that the buffalo/bison or some other creature is going to cause a traffic jam. That's right, a traffic jam. There are no fences or anything keeping them out of the roads. And I was caught in one of those traffic jams. Fantastic photo opportunities but it caused quite a delay. At least a half hour. It was tense and slightly scary, but exhilarating. Scary, you say? Why scary? Well, did you know that a buffalo/bison can run three times faster than a human? And do you know how big they are? If they truly wanted to, they could easily smash a car. But luckily, nothing like that happened.  Finally, a motorcyclist drove straight through a pair of bison, among four who were blocking the road, scaring them off for a while as they retreated back to their grassy valley. A risky thing to do, but well worth it. My hat goes off to you, whomever you may be, for taking that risk. Four or five cars escaped, mine being one of them, before more buffalo started to get back on the road.

I also saw a lot of deer-ish animals. When I entered the park, I received a brochure identifying the species that I saw. I saw bull deer and bull elk, but I'm sorry to say that I haven't spotted a moose. I'll post some pictures of the deer, in another post.

And of course, I saw Old Faithful. You simply cannot make the long drive to Yellowstone, pay for hotel reservations and sacrifice vacation time and NOT see Old Faithful. Unless you've seen it before, of course. Fantastic show of course. I watched from the historic Old Faithful Inn. Unfortunately, I arrived an hour early and had to wait a while before it erupted. But I had a grand time exploring Old Faithful Inn. Very rustic and old fashioned.

What's a vacation without at least a couple souvenirs? I bought some huckleberry jam, which I've wanted to try since I read The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn in fourth grade. Strange, isn't? How this boy is named after a berry. The huckleberry jam was delicious, by the way. Kind of like strawberry jam, but a little more tart. And I bought a Yellowstone sweatshirt, which in my cheapo/thrifty mind was way to expensive. But I don't regret it. The child in me bought a slingshot as well, the y-shaped wood carved with a wolf in the front. Last, I also bought a nice little knife, which had a green handle that said "Yellowstone" and had a little black blade. Nothing too dangerous, of course. It did prove extremely useful for cutting up the orange I had brought.

Thanks to everybody for keeping up with me after all this time. Be back here tomorrow!

                                                                     ~Jay

10/1/2010 01:19:44 pm

Jay! Where have you been!? Another month has gone without you posting anything!!! Please tell me why you haven't taken up 10 minutes of your time to put something here!
~Alex

Reply



Leave a Reply.